And the BSAC Diving Conference 2013 award winners are…


More than 400 delegates enjoying a packed programme of news, diver training and skill development course updates and open forums at BSAC’s Diving Conference which was held this year at DIVE 2013. The speakers at the conference – renowned Diving physician Prof Simon Mitchell and polar cameraman and diver Doug Allan – also went down a storm.

BSAC have revealed their Diving Conference award winners. There will be a full report and pictures from the BSAC Diving Conference 2013 in the December issue of SCUBA magazine (out from the 12th November) but in the meantime here are the winners:


COLLINS & CHAMBERS OWI AWARD – for the most meritorious candidate on the Open Water Instructor Course

Winner: Damian Gascoyne

ANALOX AI AWARD – for the most meritorious candidate on the Advanced Instructor exam

Winner: Jason Hall

FIRST CLASS DIVER – Awarded to the successful 2013 candidates

Martin Smith, Maria Harwood, Gordon Lambert and Hubert Desgranges

AP VALVES AWARD – awarded for the most admirable performance in the First Class Diver exam

Winner: Maria Harwood

NATIONAL INSTRUCTOR – Awarded to the successful 2013 candidates

Louise Whitehouse and Michelle Kim

WEEZLE AWARD – awarded to the person who performs meritoriously in the National Instructor exam

Winner: Michelle Kim

WILKINSON SWORD – awarded for the most admirable performance in a BSAC nationally assessed examination

Winner: Louise Whitehouse

BSAC SAFETY AWARD – presented in recognition of endeavouring to save a life without involving diving techniques


Fort William: D Sydenham, S Duncan, C Harvey, R Higgins, G Melville, P Johnson, R Douglas, K Douglas, S Gosden, R Hollstein

Wraysbury: Joanne White, Yvonne Tatchley, Mark Bruce, Paula Hutton, Mark Edwards, Paul Compton

ALAN BROADHURST AWARD – awarded for the use of good diving lifesaving techniques


David Williams, Marian Boyde, Peter Craig, Chris Tridgell, Jackie Bush, Clive Bush; Anthony Smith; Neil Hope

BSAC EXPEDITIONS TROPHY – presented to the organiser of the most significant British diving expedition of the year

Winner: Tyneside Branch 114 (for their Skerryvore expedition to Tiree)

PETER SMALL TROPHY – for the branch who has undertaken the most worthwhile underwater project of the year

Winner: Southsea SAC (for their project ‘Kedge Hook’ – HM Landing Craft Tank 427)

COLIN McLEOD AWARD – to the person/s who in the opinion of the BSA Jubilee Trust has contributed to international cooperation and harmony in diving and associated activities.

Winner: Dr John Bevan (a founding member of the Historical Diving Society)

SCUBAPRO COUSTEAU AWARD – for the BSAC member who goes that extra mile in the promotion of the Club’s aims and objectives

Winner: Mark Wilson


Retired from Regional Coaching positions during 2013 – Dr Pat Farrell, Mark Callaghan and Len Young

For long-standing support as BSAC liaison officer to the UKSDMC – Dr Pat Farrell

HEINKE TROPHY – for the branch judged to have done the most in furthering the interests of BSAC and its members

Winners: Oxford BSAC

Commended: Abu Dhabi SAC

SUUNTO BRANCH VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR 2013 – nominated by their fellow branch members

New Volunteer of the Year – Angela Clewes (Chorley SAC)

Young Volunteer of the Year – Lucy Fanet (Budehaven SAC)

Event Organiser of the Year – Sandra Burgen (Bradford SAC)

Long-serving Volunteer of the Year – Paul Nusinov (Swansea Yacht & SAC)

Instructor of the Year – Nigel Hilburd (Rhondda SAC)

Branch Volunteer of the Year (general) – Dave Hoskins (Swindon SAC)

JONATHAN CRUSHER OF THE YEAR – presented to the most outstanding Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Nigel Hilburd

you can check out BSAC’s Facebook page for more photos and news from the BSAC Diving Conference 2013.

Team Scubaverse

Team Scubaverse

Team Scubaverse manages the Scubaverse website

scroll to top