The Cayman Islands International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame (Watch Video)


I recently had the great pleasure of being invited to the 2019 Cayman Islands International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame awards and dinner evening where new inductees collected their well deserved acclamation held at the Margaritaville Beach Resort.

Every year the Cayman Islands holds this International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame where it welcomes new inductees to its world famous list of scuba diving heroes and legends. The event was established in 2000 by the Cayman Ministry of Tourism to celebrate those who have significantly contributed to the world of scuba diving in a positive and innovative way.

It was a busy evening with speeches, awards, good food and wine. There were four new inductees this year and they were Jonathan Bird, Lee Selisky, Dr. Adel Mohamed Taher and Hussain ‘Sendi’ Rasheed. You can read more about them here.

Jonathan Bird

I did get to talk with Jonathan Bird in a short video interview and asked him what this honour meant to him. Jonathan is an underwater cinematographer and created Jonathan Bird’s Blue World, an educational family-friendly underwater science/adventure series.

Watch the video here:

Jeff Goodman

Jeff Goodman

Jeff Goodman is the Conservation editor and also the Underwater Videography Editor for Jeff is an award winning TV wildlife and underwater cameraman and film maker. With over 10,000 dives to his credit he has dived in many different environments around the world.

scroll to top