Connect with us


Nominations Open for 2016 DAN/Rolex Diver of the Year Award



For decades, Divers Alert Network and Rolex have collaborated to award one of the most prestigious honors in scuba diving: the DAN/Rolex Diver of the Year Award. What began as a grant to DAN in the late 1980s has become an annual tradition to honor one individual who has made significant contributions to DAN’s mission of dive safety within the past year.

Since the award was first presented, the list of winners has grown to include dive physicians, educators and scientists of professional renown and altruistic character. “Through this award, DAN and Rolex have acknowledged outstanding individuals who have devoted their careers to making diving safer for all of us,” said Bill Ziefle, President and CEO of Divers Alert Network.

Nominees for the 2016 DAN/Rolex Diver of the Year Award should be individuals who are passionate about diving, promote and support DAN’s mission to prevent and manage diving incidents, demonstrate exceptional dedication to establishing a culture of dive safety, and are committed to the highest level of care for the environment. As leaders in the dive community, nominees must also go above and beyond to ensure all divers: Prepare smarter through proper dive training, equipment maintenance and predive rituals; dive smarter by exercising dive safety protocols, adhering to conservative diving profiles and maintaining high levels of situational awareness; and respond smarter through first-aid training and continuing education.

The 2016 DAN/Rolex Diver of the Year will be awarded an all-expenses-paid trip to the 2016 Beneath the Sea Dive Show in Secaucus, New Jersey, on April 1-3, to receive a custom-engraved Oyster Perpetual Rolex Dive Watch, personalized jacket and a commemorative wall plaque in recognition of his or her efforts. Rolex will also generously donate $10,000 to DAN to fund this experience and to support the essential safety initiatives DAN provides through medical research, services, safety education and first-aid training.

The 2016 DAN/Rolex award winner will be selected by a committee comprised of DAN President and CEO Bill Ziefle, senior DAN staff, at-large members, Rolex representatives and past award-winners. All qualified nominees will be notified on December 21, 2015. The winner of the 2016 DAN Rolex Diver of the Year Award will be notified of this honor by January 22, 2016.

Candidates can be nominated by completing an application that showcases the diver’s contributions to dive safety. Nominations can be submitted for consideration no later than December 18, 2015 to Garrett Broyles at Nominations can also be sent via postal mail to Divers Alert Network, DAN/Rolex Awards, 6 West Colony Place, Durham, NC, 27705.

Marine Life & Conservation Blogs

Take an immersive dive below the waves off the Welsh coast using 360 VR: Common Spider Crab (Watch Video)



A week-long series from Jake Davies…

Below the waves off the Welsh coast, there are a range of species and habitats that can be seen. However, you don’t have to venture too far from the shore to see them or don’t have to leave the comfort of your home. Using 360 videos provides an immersive feeling of being below the water and encountering many species and habitats from diving one of the most important habitats and species that aren’t often seen whilst diving. For more of an experience of being below the waves, the VR videos can be viewed using a VR headset.

Take a VR dive just off the shore and explore what can be found within the shallow waters of a sandy beach. Fish can be founding cruising amongst the seaweed and numerous crustacean (Crabs, lobster, prawns, shrimps) species can be found walking around the seafloor. Common Spider Crabs (Maja brachydactyla) are one of the largest crabs species found along the coast and during the early summer, they aggregate in large numbers to moult which allows them to grow.

Follow Jake aka JD Scuba on the YouTube channel @Don’t Think Just Blog.

Continue Reading

Dive Training Blogs

Join Me On My Commute To Scuba Diving Key Largo! (Watch Video)



Sunrise was so beautiful the other morning, I wanted to take a time lapse of my drive from home in South Miami to Key Largo before morning dives with Horizon Divers.

I thought you might enjoy taking the ride with me! Silly I know! But here’s 2 minutes of chill!



Subscribe here:

Continue Reading

E-Newsletter Sign up!


Explore the amazing triangle of Red Sea Reefs - The Brothers, Daedalus and Elphinstone on board the brand new liveaboard Big Blue.  With an option to add on a week at Roots Red Sea before or after. 

Strong currents and deep blue water are the catalysts that bring the pelagic species flocking to these reefs. The reefs themselves provide exquisite homes for a multitude of marine life.  The wafting soft corals are adorned with thousands of colourful fish. The gorgonian fans and hard corals provide magnificent back drops, all being patrolled by the reef’s predatory species.

£1475 per person based on double occupancy.  Soft all inclusive board basis, buffet meals with snacks, tea and coffee always available.  Add a week on at Roots Red Sea Resort before or after the liveaboard for just £725pp.  Flights and transfers are included.  See our brochure linked above for the full itinerary.

This trip will be hosted by The Scuba Place.  Come Dive with Us!

Call 020 3515 9955 or email

More Less

Instagram Feed